Poets logo

That Summer Showed Blue

a transgender story

By Oliver KippPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
That Summer Showed Blue
Photo by Delia Giandeini on Unsplash

That summer I hacked off all my hair.

Stole my brothers swimming suit,

And dived in shades of blue.

Watching pinks in sunsets,

I said goodbye to

Who people thought I should be.

Wore a black tie to my grandpa’s funeral

Hoped he’d still be proud of me.

Decided I’m proud of me .

Changed my name

And felt the yellow

In new joy.

Told my parents the doctors got it wrong,

The pink hat wasn’t meant for me.

The baby hat should have been a different hue entirely.

I finally made a home

In a body that always felt hollow.

Peeled back the wallpaper and Painted it rainbow.

That summer floating deep in shades of blue

I found my real me,

I became proud of myself.

inspirational

About the Creator

Oliver Kipp

writer, poet, creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Oliver KippWritten by Oliver Kipp

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.