Poets logo

Just like you

I'll still be me

By Oliver KippPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Just like you
Photo by Veit Hammer on Unsplash

Dear Grandpa,

They say I'm just like you. That's all I used to want to be.

Teachering me to swim was always metaphor. I learned to be proud of myself. Proud of pacientce, proud of kindness, of detrimintion.

I watch you make friends with everyone. Lend a hand to the neighbors, look after your family.

I grew up I did that too. I grew up, we lost you.

They say I'm just like you. Maybe that's not so good.

The family secrets aren't so secret anymore. Talking around the supper table about all the things that run in our dna.

Was the smile a lie? I don't remember if I ever saw you cry. Make sure everyone was okay. Was that so you didn't have to focus on you?

I never really knew, you were running from demons too.

I get it now. How nice it is to be kind. How it's easy to leave yourself behind. Let it all sink away. How to hide from all your bad it doing something good.

They say I'm just like you. Some of that's okay. As long as I done end the same way.

love,

your grandson

sad poetry

About the Creator

Oliver Kipp

writer, poet, creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Oliver KippWritten by Oliver Kipp

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.