Poets logo

That’s all.

TW: Unhealthy relationships

By Amelia WPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
That’s all.
Photo by Anna Tarazevich on Unsplash

I gaze at your lusty hands,

bold, yet indifferent.

Great lumps of flesh grabbing at flesh

until bruises form like rainclouds.

Skin pinched,

holding your imprints

in memory

of you and our time together.

That’s all that’s left.

If you’d stopped to ask me, I might’ve said yes.

But yes wasn’t a code needed to crack the vault open.

Not to you.

Everybody is somebody

is some-body

Every. Body. is. Somebody

And I count the times, on one hand,

when I felt like somebody around you.

In those moments

the room blurs into soft focus.

Extremities reach for promotions

and glass ceilings.

I’m dancing amongst the flames, but you seek me out.

Unafraid to burn.

You’re watching only me.

Were.

We’d tumble into bed,

giddy and uninhibited.

Whisky lips and heavy breath

echoing lyrics,

melodic beats pour through the speakers.

I’d have given you my passwords,

given you the sky,

if I had it in possession.

Thank the moon and stars that I don’t.

A meteoric tumble into nothingness.

Once thick distain rings empty and hollow.

Your smile, flecked with gilded malice,

warnings fired behind fiery eyes,

and I’m dancing in the flames again.

You’re watching only me.

…were.

I hope you were. Because whoever she is now,

she doesn’t deserve cold, relenting hands

disconnected,

pasted onto a fractured body.

That’s all that’s left.

performance poetryheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Amelia W

She/Her

Hi, I’m Amelia, (Amy), I’m an Actor, Drama Practitioner, Youth Worker and poet. I began writing my first novel in lockdown.

Thanks for stopping to have a read :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.