Poets logo

That Elusive Human Connection

That rare connection in my life

By Colleen Millsteed Published 3 years ago 2 min read
That Elusive Human Connection
Photo by Federico Beccari on Unsplash

I’m your classic introvert struggling with that necessary human connection

I’m socially awkward and try to steer clear of parties and crowds,

I attend all my theatre productions and music concerts alone

Other than that only my boys intrusion on my life is allowed.

***

I detest small talk in any way, shape or form

Seeing it for the time waster and connection killer that it is,

The asking of questions you hope remain unanswered

I don’t see the sense or want to play the game to any of this.

***

I will happily take a week’s leave from my employment

And spend that entire week home on my own,

Not opening my front door even once during that time

And treasuring my own space and enjoy being alone.

***

Ten years I’ve now lived in this large city

Not made even one friend in all of those years,

I don’t have much need for a string of people in my life

I make do and really only need my small family, it appears.

***

Then along will come that beautiful human Soul

Where I will instantly connect to their bright shining light,

That pushes aside my darkness, my walls and opens my heart

That Soul that slots in beside me as if it’s their right.

***

This is an extremely rare occurrence but when it does connect

There’s this synchronicity that occurs outside of my control,

It’s the Universe ensuring I don’t push that one individual away

That one person that’s going to become important to my Soul.

***

I’ve learnt to listen to the Universe, to take heed when I do meet

That one individual that has instant access to my closed off heart,

Whether they be meant as a temporary lover, a long term friend

Or the next Soul that blesses my life, my heart with love from the start.

***

When I do feel the snap of that instant bond, that instant connection

I know I have found a beautiful kindred spirit, a equally vulnerable being,

One that will show me their brutally honest spirit, laying their shame at my door

Knowing I will perform the same for them, almost a mirror image it’s so freeing.

***

That connection that will move forward performing miracles

Removing obstacles that we see as unmovable brick walls,

Whether that be the difference of a culture or the spanning of age

The insurmountable miles between you, any possibilities known to stall.

***

Don’t get me wrong, any connection that’s meant to click

Doesn’t mean it will be necessarily easy, even if absolutely right,

That special rare occurrence of a deep seated connection

You will both need to put in the hard yards and take up the fight.

************************************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Colleen Millsteed Written by Colleen Millsteed

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.