Poets logo

That beautiful day in Dehra Dun in Grade 11

by Anshuman Kumar

By Anshuman KumarPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
That beautiful day in Dehra Dun in Grade 11
Photo by Jonas Svidras on Unsplash

Even though this love story of mine did not result in what I wanted,

It is still my first love story and I shall never forget it!!

It was September 1993 at La Martere's School in Dehra Dun, India

My first day in Grade 11. I had joined from another school and as my previous school was only till Grade 10.

My Grade 11 class had 9 girls and 3 boys (including me); a small class.

I wanted to study Economics and Political Science as subjects in Grade 11 and that school had a very small Arts group in Grade 11

As the first period was about to start my classmates started pouring into class and the last one was Tara Khanna. She was like a breath of fresh air. She was an angel. Her face glowed from afar. She used to wear a blue ribbon in her hair. I was besotted!

The next two months I became and acquaintance and friendly. I would talk with her whenever I could.

Slowly I felt I was falling in love with her. I had never felt like that before. Often I would feel light in my stomach and a sense of happiness.

On November 28, 1993, I told her how I felt. It was a short conversation. I made sure she knew I loved her.

I waited for her response. She seemed a little sad. She whispered, "Dear Anshu, thanks for your feelings but I have someone else in my life. I have to be honest."

That night at home I cried a lot. For a few days I did not talk to her but later again were back as classmates and acquaintances.

Gradually I accepted what fate had for me with her and then moved on with my life.

After so many years I have a lovely wife now and two adorable children.

But I always remember my first love - Tara. I will never forget her. To me, she was love, positivity and purity. I am very glad that she was honest with me.

I always wish the very best for her in life.

She will always have a tiny fraction of my heart with her.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Anshuman Kumar

I live and work in Canada and am originally from India. I am interested in movies, short stories, swimming, travel etc. Tips are definitely optional but are very welcome. Thank you for reading.

My email is [email protected]

Thanks.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.