Poets logo

That Awkward Moment

The Imprisoned Impersonating The Free

By Sarah JanePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Princess Teapot Eyeball Skewer. Lucidity, 2022. 📸: darkmatterphotographs

That awkward moment

when a group of people

approach you

excited that you have arrived

and you have no idea

who any of them are

:

I sat in the shade

with a saxophone player

from the south

I told him

"I like to blend in."

:

He looked at me confused

and asked me why

Then I told him about

that awkward moment

30 minutes before our sit down

:

"It helps me feel safe to blend in."

"I don't like being recognized by those I don't recognize.'

:

He agreed wholeheartedly

"I stick out."

"I'm tall, and my name is Tall Sam."

"I meet so many people who recognize me,

and I don't even know who they are."

:

We agreed that's why

we are reluctant to front a band

:

I love to make music

but privacy and peace is worth gold

:

"As much as I try to blend in

for some reason I stand out."

"Even in my short stature

even with my basic bitch name."

:

That awkward moment

when your intention to blend in

causes you to stand out

:

That laughable moment

when the front woman of a band

imitates your dance moves

when she comes off stage

:

Everyone laughing at you

but you laugh with yourself

knowing it's the imprisoned

impersonating the free

:

That awkward moment

when you tell that front woman

after her performance

"You were amazing."

and she ignores your existence

:

That moment you realize

that same woman despises your existence

But more so the imprisoned front woman

despises watching your soul dance freely

behind her bars

:

That awkward moment

that you laugh about in the moment

because imitation is the biggest form of flattery

and hate is the breadth of your biggest fan

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.