Poets logo

Thank you

It’s simple, no? But so effortlessly effective

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
1

and like a buttercup flower, you brought it to my cheeks, it turned rosy

It meant that I was “boy crazy”

But really I was in love with you,

Little yellow butterflies tingle your skin

Your heart tingles like a hummingbird

And I love your voice under my covers as we laugh and laugh

I wish we had these memories

I have them in my day dreams

Buttercup lemon drop,

I thank you for your kindness

And for your astonishing astute insight,

I thank you,

So

Thank you,

As we have all of a summer night

To never say good night,

And kiss our fears away, like a pure romance rain.

Is our thank you so rare,

When so many bark it out like a radio vibration backwards,

When I know and you know it as I whisper it in your ear,

It’s rare to you,

And I feel our life and raw energy inside of it, perfect polite,

Drinking in lemon,

Love.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Testabout a year ago

    This is so fresh and beautiful, Melissa!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.