Poets logo

Thank you for choosing me

An ode to my "step" dad

By Janice DailyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2

My sister, the spitting image of you,

It's like a mirror, we all know it's true.

I look at my blue eyes and blonde hair and don't see how it's fair

She looks like you and I look like someone who doesn't care

You taught me how to love in our own special way,

And that love I have cherished every single day.

I hold on to every moment we share,

Knowing one day will be our last, and you won't be there

The love you've given me, the life you've shown

Will live on forever in my heart, forever known.

Even now, the thought encapsulates my body,

And I am filled with unimaginable dread.

But I'll hold onto the love you've given me,

And I'll remember it in my head.

You've been my rock, my guiding light,

And I'll treasure you always, in my heart, so bright.

I want to say thank you,

For all that you've done,

I may not have your eyes or your smile, but you've given me so much more,

A father's love that I've had the privilege to adore

sad poetrylove poemsinspirationalheartbreak
2

About the Creator

Janice Daily

Words can paint a picture, evoke emotion, and transport readers to different worlds. From dark and eerie tales to heartwarming and romantic verse. I hope that my stories and poems can inspire and move you in some way.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.