Poets logo

TEXAS INDIGO

Blue Haiku

By Babs IversonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
12
TEXAS INDIGO
Photo by David Clode on Unsplash

Quintessential blue,

Texas Indigo Snakes bite.

Oh, not poisonous!

*******************************

Poisonous or not! I'm afraid

of snakes no matter the hue.

Interesting fact, Texas Indigo Snakes eat

mice, birds, and rattlesnakes.

Thank you for reading!

nature poetry
12

About the Creator

Babs Iverson

Barbara J Iversen, also known as Babs Iverson, lives in Texas and loves her grandkids to the moon and back. After writing one story, she found that writing has many benefits especially during a pandemic and a Texas-size Arctic Blast.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Emily Marie Concannonabout a year ago

    I can't believe I missed this one but really great work 😊😊

  • I have a healthy respect for snakes and will hold pet ones. Those blue ones are so pretty and they eat rattlesnakes?? I'd consider them an ally lol. I had to remove a few different snakes from near the chicken run and my garden early last spring and I get nervous grabbing them when I don't know which kind they are as we do have some poisonous species here in VT, but it was a choice between leaving them out there near my children, the chickens and chicks while I went to get my phone to look them up, or just grab and toss them behind the fence.

  • Pretty poem, and I hate 'em too.

  • Whoaaa they even eat rattlesnakes? But gosh, they're soooo beautiful!

  • Like you Babs I am not much a fan of snakes. Although I do enjoy the visual of an exotic snake such as the Texas Indigo Snake.

  • This one is very clever Babs.

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    He's pretty.

  • J. S. Wade2 years ago

    40? Wow. Love the word Quintessential 🥰

  • Tiffany Gordon 2 years ago

    Great work!!!!

  • This comment has been deleted

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.