Poets logo

telling stories.

an introduction

By Rosie Stanton Published 3 years ago 1 min read
wedding rings

I'm here to tell stories.

To share memories and invite you into my mind.

So, please hold my hand as we swim through the fjords and float down the rivers of the dream world.

I'm here to tell stories

Second hand memories. To find the unspoken part of storytelling. That is the visual, the felt, the smelled and heard. I'm looking for the materiality of stories and how to tell stories without illustrating. Making it interesting.

Images that are special. That are quiet but feel like they have history. Images are reproduced and retold. Text as image. spoken word as imagery? Spoken word listened to as music with tune and rhythm. tactile. sensory. memories.

My dad’s memories of his mum. I can know her. I feel like i know her by the stories I have heard. The photos I’ve seen. The things I have held and smelled. There is a big wooden chest of her things at my house with her wedding dress and birthday cards, shoes and doilies. I’ve worn her wedding dress. I’ve eaten her favourite ice cream. Mango Weis bar. Her favourite colour was green. Emerald Green. Her recipes are vague but delicious. She was incredibly smart and met my granddad when they were working on a computer.

I hear she was beautiful.

I’ve seen it in the photos.

And I see it in my dad and my aunties.

And they see it in me.

love poems

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    RSWritten by Rosie Stanton

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.