Poets logo

Telescope

a haiku

By Gina C.Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
28
Image created with Midjourney

Light years seem to be

time machines; aliens see

prehistoric dreams.

*

-Gina C. 🧚‍♀️✨

Image created with Midjourney

***

Author's Note: Did you know? Light years truly are time machines. Scientists entertain the idea that if an alien - 65 million light years away - was peering at Earth through a powerful-enough telescope right now, they would see the dinosaurs. 🦖🦕

I wrote several versions of this haiku before finally deciding on this one. While I could have made this a bit more scientific, I preferred the dreamier feel - which I think makes it seem a bit like an excerpt from a children's book or a lullaby. ☺️🧚‍♀️✨

***

References:

  1. Forbes. (2018). Why Looking At The Stars Is A Look Back In Time. https://www.forbes.com/sites/quora/2018/02/07/why-looking-at-the-stars-is-a-look-back-in-time/?sh=7c4b69c014ec

***

Thank you so much for reading! ☺️ I'm working really hard to grow my community on Vocal, so if you enjoyed this short haiku, I'd be over the moon if we could be friends and support each other here!

I reciprocate all comments, hearts, and subscriptions. :) ❤️

childrens poetry
28

About the Creator

Gina C.

Achievements:

  • Twice-published in Vocal's Moment of Freedom Collection:

My Soul of Red

Free Verse

Free-Form poet of ethereal style🧚‍♀️✨

Fantasy writer

A sucker for a good rhyme☺️

Fueled by a conflicted soul of fire & water

TT: poetry.in_pajamas

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (24)

Sign in to comment
  • Kelley Steadabout a year ago

    Love love love

  • Stephen Kramer Avitabileabout a year ago

    Wow, what an interesting way to view this! Seeing from place to place... but at different times. And aliens seeing the dinosaurs! My mind is blown, lovely words!

  • Lovely work

  • Parker Samabout a year ago

    nice one mam!! mam I have an request, if you have any suggestions or any ideas for teenagers on any ways that could help them please share it to me mam. My Instagram account is : sam62217 mam!! THANK YOU !!☺😊

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Really cute images of baby dinosaurs. Good work as always.

  • Caroline Janeabout a year ago

    This manages to be simultaneously adorable and scientific. Great job!

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Your images are all so fascinating. I really enjoy them. Lovely haiku. I'm using the light year theory in my time machine story.

  • Sonia Heidi Unruhabout a year ago

    I love the way you build on a foundation of scientific information to spark imagination and wonder.

  • Thavien Yliasterabout a year ago

    Ah, widdle baby dinosaurs. 🦕🦖 I thought they were dragons for a moment, but who knows aliens might call them that too. I always enjoyed that idea of looking into the past by being stars upon stars away from this planet only to receive the photons of what life back then would be like. I remember a Phineas and Ferb episode though about why pictures of earth from space are all blurry and its because of our atmosphere. Hopefully those aliens have better telescopes than what we could ever make to peer through the clouds and layers of ozone.

  • Aphoticabout a year ago

    I absolutely love this! Also, the images are adorable and the author’s note is a very interesting concept.

  • Lots of information in your poem, excellent effort

  • Omg! I have read that too! And it blew my mind! I love stuff like this and I absolutely loved your Haiku! If it isn't dreamy, it isn't a Gina's piece! Loved this so much!

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    Love every bit of this. ❤️

  • Andrew-Stuartabout a year ago

    Great theme! Well chosen 😀

  • Diani Alvarengaabout a year ago

    This is amazing!

  • Jason Ray Morton about a year ago

    Wow. That's an awesome way to do the challenge. It resonates with my inner sci-fi geek.

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Fabulous!!! Like the dreamy feel!!!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    You are speaking my nerdy love language!!! Oh, l loved the idea of this as I've thought about it and looked into it before. Such a cool idea and the little dinos are the cutest ever!! Great work :)

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    Excellent concept! I really enjoyed this one.

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    This is so cool. Love the picture and transcendence the words create 👏♥️👏♥️

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This is so sweet, and I learned something new. Well done.

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    Bravo, girl! This is cool and glad you went with the dreamier side of things! It definitely sounds and flows like a lullaby!

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    Beautifully done and I learned something too 😄

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.