Poets logo

Telephone

I'm playing telephone but not with people, with the trees and my legacy.

By Silver Serpent BooksPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Telephone
Photo by Lucas Lenzi on Unsplash

I wonder of the destruction left in my wake.

The icy fingertips of cruelty spreading snow

Across an apathetic, grey sky, crystalizing the

Mountain range of clouds until they all glitter

And tumble to the sleeping dirt.

I wonder if the delicate black stretching its long arms

In an ancient embrace over the clouds

Has decided whether to fuss or sleep

In my fresh absence.

______________________________________

Beautiful questions.

______________________________________

Maybe it isn't the frigidness flowering on the puff

Of my breath but loud mistimed cymbal crashes

That will rise when I am suddenly truant.

Maybe I will hear, in the distance, the blasting beat of a drum,

A band as long as the Mississippi roaring

With the same flooding enthusiasm,

The same archaic, trudging passion that empties itself

Into bayous and river deltas,

Feeding beasts and the unsatiable ocean.

______________________________________

A legacy of blue-grey waters and brown silt.

______________________________________

Black earth. Dirty yellow silt. White sand.

Things will grow then in the shadowed imprint

Of every footstep I've taken on this meandering journey.

Little wildflowers, blooming from the silt and covered

By green moss clumping close to their roots in a fresh kiss.

Fed by the spirit of my imagination.

Trees just beginning their long, grand lives

In a bootprint.

In a moment, in a breath.

______________________________________

A thumbprint pressed into melting snow.

______________________________________

My stories must hum inside every clump of soil I have held,

Every lichen cradled between curious fingertips of mine,

Each small flower with feather-soft petals cupped by a hooked finger.

They must live in every good wish my calloused palms pressed

Against equally rough bark.

They whisper through the roots of every tree

I shook hands with, dreamt underneath.

They live in the orange flowers reaching, reaching

For the sun, green leaves thick and strong with life

And my little stories spread through the world.

______________________________________

I've played telephone with the trees.

______________________________________

Silver Serpent Books

______________________________________

Thank you for reading. Remember, there's more stuff on my ko-fi but a heart here is all I'm looking for. Though! If you'd like to leave some feedback, I'm absolutely eager to hear it. I love hearing what my readers are feeling and thinking about my work. :)

nature poetry

About the Creator

Silver Serpent Books

Writer. Interested in all the rocks people have forgotten to turn over. There are whole worlds under there, you know. Dark ones too, even better.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Silver Serpent BooksWritten by Silver Serpent Books

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.