Poets logo

Tattered Dreamscape

Lost in sleepless wonderland

By Rii PiercePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Tattered Dreamscape
Photo by Jr Korpa on Unsplash

I rise in the dead of night

Waking to the wanderlust of my minds

A cold sweat beading across my forehead

Remnants of the restless sleep that lay behind me

What dreams graced my slumbering thoughts?

What disasters danced across the subconscious layers of my broken memories?

Pieces together by drunken synapses

Confused and scared and desperate to create their message

*

What are they trying to tell me?

The bits of images faded and fading

Crumbling into the light of wake ness

Only to be seen behind closed eyes and open hearts

What dreams lay before me as I toss back into this restless unrest

*

A condition near death

Functions of the body slowed and surrendered

Caught behind the unforgiving weight of a somnambulant mind

They cry out again

Flashing tattered pictures in twisted severance

Backwards and upside down

The wandering mind battling its own inability to finish the puzzle

*

All the pieces have lost their edges

Jagged and soft and none of them fit

Tastes of memories spliced into one another

Smashing faces on wrong names And names in disappearing faces

Never to be caught for more than a glimpse

But known doubtlessly to be who they are not

*

A dream that wakes me and sticks to me deeply

A dream that tickles the back of my lizard brain until the days done and we start all over again

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Rii Pierce

(She/her.)Words have inexplicable power. ONE word has the power to change any situation just as quickly as it takes to form. Avid writer, voracious reader, compelled activist, and anxious creator, I am newly embracing what I have to offer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.