Poets logo

Taters, No Gravy

A Poem

By Otis AdamsPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Taters, No Gravy
Photo by Rachel Loughman on Unsplash

I accept my small life.

I will read my books and play with my dogs

I will visit Grandma until she is gone

Fridays, I will go to the chess club and hope my game runs long

Saturdays, I will visit my parents until they are gone

I will never play centerfield for the Cardinals

I can’t hit, catch, or throw

I might have been the heavyweight champion

but suspect I can’t throw or take the blows

As a boy I wanted to be a superhero, to fight for what’s right

but the only crime I have witnessed is the running of a red light

I will never make a mortgage payment with pay from my writing

two hundred rejection letters are stacked where that dream used to be

I will go on reading Roth, Cohen, Dickens and Dickinson,

Hemingway, Kipling, Bronte and Bronte (I never cared much for the third)

reading and wishing I could do what they do

I will go on writing words no other eyes will read

there’s pleasure in writing them too

My life will continue to be one of increasing solitude

I accept it

Acceptance is the only silver bullet,

after the trying is tried,

for that want of what won’t be had

I wanted a wife and kids

in truth, I want that still

but it’s the reward at the end of a maze

and I lack the navigational skills

Whatever makes a woman stay

I haven’t got it

At every fork in the road

I make the wrong turn

When I spoke

she just wanted me to listen

When I listened

I was supposed to speak

One wanted more length, girth, and some specific sort of curve

in the end she called it off claiming I didn’t like her church

One said she wanted to have children, I said I wanted that too

she slapped me and said she wanted someone to love her, not her womb

I bought flowers for one in a vase draped in silk,

I gave her chocolates in a box shaped like a heart

but her heart was broken because I forgot,

she had told me she liked dark, not milk

I dated one who was a round 200 pounds

thinking we could be fat together

caring nothing for the aesthetic

she decided to wait for someone more athletic

There have been four women I loved

two of them loved me back

The memory of the love can live in my house

my house with three bedrooms and one bed

I have my books

I have my dogs

I have my Grandma for awhile

and my parents awhile longer than that

I have the memory of love

though the lovers have left

Surely taters with gravy is best

but I see those with only gravy

and am grateful for my taters

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Otis Adams

Otis Adams is an essayist, fiction writer, and poet. He enjoys and writes about chess, boxing, and television history.

Please consider supporting Otis's work at Patreon.com/OtisAdams.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.