Poets logo

Tapping

Tap tap

By Jamería BlainPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Tapping
Photo by Raul Angel on Unsplash

My silver spoon taps against that old, smudged porcelain cup.

It’s a part of its morning routine.

I made a friend today, clean as the white paint coating the walls,

This friend of mine accepts me whole.

The tapping on the cup becomes insistent,

My friend doesn’t mind,

which earns them more applause from the silver spoon,

It’s proud my friend is choosing to stay by me.

None of my quirks cause annoyance,

From the wailing that overtakes me in the nighttime,

as the stars shimmer in the moonlight,

To the hollow laughs that erupt my belly,

as I imagine the silver spoon speaking to me,

This friend of mine accepts me whole.

I tried to reach for their hand once, only to fall flat on my face,

The wind kissed the neck of neck, telling me, “it’s okay.”

My friend said touch isn’t required for our friendship to thrive, just belief.

So I believe in this friend of mine, who accepts me whole, to be as real.

Just as I believe in the silver spoon that tells me jokes in this old, forgotten house,

once it’s finished it’s morning ritual of tapping against the porcelain cup.

“I have friends,” I remind myself, as I awake to the wind howling in the distance,

“ I’m not forgotten, just misplaced.”

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.