Poets logo

Tangled

Cutting The Ties

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Tangled
Photo by Deleece Cook on Unsplash

I never knew how close the ceiling felt to me

walls closing in, while I dreamt of being free

Tangled in memories kept hidden with skeleton keys

dwelling here in the past, a present-day absentee

*

No-one bothered looking, they don't care where I am

your kindness clearly mistook, when you don't give a damn

I tried my best to reach out, heal the hurt that remains

I knew it was for naught, when you screamed out my name

*

Alone in a crowd, separated by lies

what's the use in forgiveness, when no-one else tries

Run away from the pain, and the noise in my head

My being good with me, is more important, instead

*

You sit on that throne, making judgements, like takeout

like you know what you know anything my life's about

Truth is, you hide behind your ignorant pride

keeping everyone out, casting the truth to the side

*

Well my truth is, I'm tired of the things that you say

sick of all your excuses and the games that you play

The next time you stick your nose in where it doesn't belong

will be the day that I remind you to keep moving along

slam poetry

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knockabout a year ago

    I'm of two minds on this. First, I feel for you having gone through such trauma with another. Second, I find myself recognizing that there are times I have been that trauma for someone else & I am ashamed.

  • Oooo, this was powerful! Loveeeeeee this!

  • Snap, Snap, Snap 👏😁👍Well Done❤️

Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenWritten by Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.