Poets logo

talk to me through thunder

is thunder our song?

By Skylar WhitneyPublished 9 months ago 2 min read
1

if 20 years down the line

there comes a place,

there comes a time,

when I find myself

without you by my side...

if even it turned out

two decades had passed

since I had seen your face last

for my whole lifetime,

no matter when

i'll think of you

when the thunder rolls.

she shakes the house

she cracks her whip

she throttles through town

i'll think of you

in all these times

of all these same sweet

summer nights

Mother Nature

has truly given us

one hell of a storm

my drumming heart

once I closed the door

and out you walked

but I wanted more

that's how I felt

last night

when you left

she mimic's me in her

crackling cries

I, too, could shout up

at the sky

why present to me

such a specimen of man

and leave me hanging

high and dry?

but I lie in bed

imagining how it'd feel

to fall asleep with you

cuddled up to my side

and I hear her laughter

once again

flashes light up

Jasper's night sky

and in the light strokes

on my bedroom walls

i'm brought to ocean eyes

and I picture

what it would be like to catch

only a glimpse

into your mind

send me a screenshot

and i'll send you mine

a mutual exchange

oh, what might I find?

BOOM she roars

branches, leaves soar

the forest is dancing

this is why trees were made to be

awfully flexible

but when finally at home

you safely arrive

your "goodnight" text sent

and 5 minutes pass

someone up in heaven

so suddenly hit

STRIKE

there was the climax

we've all been waiting for

and you know we're both listening

in our lonesome

separate apartments

and you know at the same time

as you heard it

so did I

and you send me a second text

making sure I heard it too

now whenever I hear thunder

I'll only ever think of you.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Skylar Whitney

Introvert at heart. Lover of journaling, free-verse poetry, and poutine.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.