Poets logo

Tale Of Two Lives

Both Of Equal Importance

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
5
Tale Of Two Lives
Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

I had a friend ask me to cover a few topics: Mental Health, Drugs, Trauma. People who have given all, lost all, or feel unworthy to dream at all. We all have our demons, we all have failed, and we all need love and support. Here is a poem in honor to those still trying, still hoping.

*

*

Devil on my shoulder

Monkey on my back

The voices getting bolder

Finding new ways to attack

*

Voices speak, you cannot hear

But they're talking, nonetheless

It's getting pretty cramped in here

I feel like maybe I'm possessed

*

I'm doing things I wouldn't do

But it's not me, it's them

Please tell me that you see them too

Causing all of this mayhem

*

Flashbacks of the things I've seen

Have moved deep inside my head

They build me up and then demean

Peace comes only when I'm dead

*

No, I'm not saying that I want to die

But a part of me is gone

The numb sensation of being high

Kept me from feeling, for so long

*

I have glimpses of who I once was

Before life took the wheel from me

It gripped me tight, within its jaws

Laughing, mocking at my pleas

*

And now I struggle to make sense

It's hard to take my life back

Your judgement puts me on defense

I'm aware of what I lack

*

What I need from you is empathy

No handouts, no free rides

Just a little love and sympathy

Some faith, dignity and pride

*

Let me feel human again

Help me find my feet

A chance for better to begin

Making both our lives complete

*

Things weren't always like this

I'm not who I used to be

There is a side of me that you missed

In your opinion, formed of me

surreal poetry
5

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Gideon 6ixabout a year ago

    Excellent, thank you for sharing🙏

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    So real and full of so much depth. Another amazing one. Wonderful work!

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    Damn Kelli, more incredible work! You just seem to be permanently on fire!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Wow. This is excellent. Well done Kelli.

  • Moe Radosevichabout a year ago

    reality in real words excellent job kelli

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.