Poets logo

Taking Flight

This is what it feels like to spread your wings

By Libby CannonPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Like

I used to have dreams I could fly

Jump from the rooftops and soar through the sky

Glide from tree to tree

And see the whole world below me

I forgot what freedom felt like

I forgot what it meant to be free

I forgot what it feels like to trust myself so much

That I could leap from the ground and feel the sky's touch

I was brave back then

Somewhere along the way, I was given a new mission

To follow the footsteps of those in front of me

And forget what it felt like to jump from the trees

To lose the sense of wonder I had

At becoming a new me as I flew across the land

To follow along blindly

And change myself to fit into society

But I wasn't born to follow an army

I wasn't made to see what others see

I wasn't created to give into the musings

Of a collective idea that only hurts other beings

I was born to soar

I was born to fly

I was born to experience a new world

And lead others into the sky

I was born to grow wings six feet long

I was born to leave

The policies

Of my small family and my small town

I'm here to create something new

To lead the way out of the clouds of fear and into a sun full of truth

Those dreams were sent to me for a reason

I'm here for something bigger, and they were my first clue

I always had dreams of flying

I always thought I just wanted to escape

But it was only showing me

That I was never meant to be held down

By other people's fear and other people's pain

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Libby Cannon

I spend a lot of time writing poetry and short essays on freedom, mental health, societal structures, feminism, and philosophy. Writing is how I process my thoughts and I hope what I share resonates with you :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.