Poets logo

Take My Heart When You Leave

A Poem Inspired by the song "Exile" by Taylor Swift

By Bradley RamseyPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
3
Image: Ivan Kuznetsov via Unsplash

Five minutes, that's all you needed,

No matter how much I pleaded,

Your patience had worn thin,

I didn't know where to begin.

*

I believe you; you say you tried,

So did I, but our love still died,

Everything had become unsteady,

You left, but I wasn't ready.

*

I was shocked when you said goodbye,

But now I see where things went awry,

The line between us was so thin,

Our problems came from within.

*

The warning signs were everywhere,

Our fragile bond was about to tear,

I should have done more so I could see,

Everything you always did for me.

*

I've seen this film, read between the lines,

A screenplay to follow, filled with signs,

Don't use the front door when you go,

The side door should be the final blow.

*

I wish I could have read your mind,

Our goals would have stayed aligned,

Exiled in these halls, here I'll grieve,

Just take my heart with you when you leave.

love poemssad poetry
3

About the Creator

Bradley Ramsey

Lover of dogs, gaming, and long walks on the beach. Content Marketing Manager by day, aspiring writer by night. Long time ghostwriter, finally stepping into the light. Alone, we cannot change this world, but we can create better ones.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • ROCK about a month ago

    Sadly beautiful.

  • StoryholicFinds7 months ago

    love it! ❤️

  • I'm a huge Swiftie and I was so excited to read your poem! It was so poignant and emotional! I loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.