Poets logo

Take me Back

Way Back

By Mother CombsPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
Take me Back
Photo by Robert Collins on Unsplash

Take me back

Way on back

To my childhood

When life was really good

When life was pure

When it was funny to be immature

Back when I sat on Grandma’s lap

Way back when I wore Grandpa’s cap

When I was young enough to play

Before, I had a bunch of bills to pay

When Mama would tuck you into bed

And Dad would hold you over his head

Take me back

Way on back

FamilyProseFree Versefact or fiction

About the Creator

Mother Combs

Come near, sit a spell, and listen to tales of old as I sit and rock by my fire. I'll serve you some cocoa and cookies as I tell you of the time long gone by when your Greats-greats once lived.

Admin = ViM

PViM

Mike Judey Dharr Grz

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Aaron Waddell - The Everyday Mystic5 months ago

    Nice dose of nostalgia!

  • I wouldn't really wanna return to my childhood but I wish I can go back to when I was 22. Loved your poem!

  • Denise E Lindquist5 months ago

    I never thought I would hit fifty! And here tomorrow, I am seventy! Calgon, take me away! I just want to stay young for another day!😉

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    Even my 12 year old wants to go back a few years!

  • Yes, please....

  • Kodah5 months ago

    I wrote a piece with this feeling. Wish I could go back 💖

Mother CombsWritten by Mother Combs

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.