Poets logo

Take Me Back

Yesterday's Gone

By Raven MorrisPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1

Traveling back in time to get there. Flash blacks from the years that have passed playing roll back like seizure stricken eyes in my head. There were no worries there, no pain, and no sorrow. A blissful place, no concerns for tomorrow. The sweet smell of honey suckle dances in the air behind the small brick house, along with the scent of fresh cut grass. I can hear the robins chirping from their homes in the two huge pecan trees that shade the entire back yard at the sun's peak. I follow the sound of the birds there, I take a look at the ground... pecans surround my feet. I take a few into the house to share, she takes them in delight even though she probably has many. She wouldn't dare deny her me the enjoyment of the great job I've done. In return she gives me a soft, warm hug like always! I proceed into the living room where a silly old man sits in a recliner watching old westerns on VHS. The volume is on one hundred, account of his bad hearing. I tap him on the shoulder and lean my head up against him, I'm the only thing that can get him to mute that damned thing. He leans his head back against mine, calls my nickname, and kisses my forehead right before he goes back to blasting the television once again. I exit the living room and onto the front porch, the scent of roses and ripe tomatoes dance under my nose. I'm obsessed with roses, I go pick a couple for her and him both. They shower me with love and appreciation. I long for that home to be mine once again. Fast forward, times have changed and things are different. Some people leave, some places do too. None of that changes what's inside of you. I may never again will know that complete feeling but the memories live on within.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.