Poets logo

Swollen Soul

A Free Verse Poem

By Nikki Torino WagnerPublished 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read
3
Swollen Soul
Photo by 愚木混株 cdd20 on Unsplash

My Soul needs-

Tales of romantic adventure

read by crackling wooden wick candles

wafting burnt oak through rooms

igniting cravings for charred marshmallow.

\

My Soul needs-

An eclectic playlist that distracts

shaking the body awake.

Feet taping. Hips swaying in rhythm.

Breathlessly high on endorphins.

\

My Soul needs-

Evenings settled under a weighted blanket

head tucked under his chin

tracing fingers

marking invisible hearts on flesh.

listlove poemsfact or fiction
3

About the Creator

Nikki Torino Wagner

I know stories. After getting suspended for peddaling my own magazine, in grade school, I started contributing to the local paper's weekly column. In college, I co-edited, and won several awards, for our paper and literary magazine.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Erika 11 months ago

    My soul needs all this too and loves this poem

  • Ralph Wagner12 months ago

    I need tickles too!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.