Poets logo

Swimming With Dolphins

How Kira and Yuki inspired me to alter my bucket list

By A.M.RadulescuPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
22
with Kira and Yuki

A long time ago I made a list

a bucket list — you probably know of this.

In it were gathered a plethora of wonderful things

from reading 10000 tomes to meeting a prince,

learning three languages and experiencing true love’s kiss.

But none was greater and more anticipated

than swimming with dolphins in a wild shelter.

***

So I begged and I plotted and I cajoled

never forgetting this life-long goal.

And finally, finally, the time did indeed come

for me to embark on a journey of the soul.

***

24 but acting like four

I traveled to Istanbul to fulfill my dream from long ago.

Shedding my clothes and dipping a toe

it was almost time to wait no more.

***

At long last the gates opened and in they came

two lovely lady dolphins dressed in grey.

Kira and Yuki bowed deep and low

thus enchanting me more than you could know.

Sleek, athletic, and cold to the touch

smiling with intelligence and so very much

they invited me to tango in three,

something that I never knew it could be.

Like Fred and Ginger and one more for the count

we sailed the waters, feeling so free.

***

When the dance was over they gave me a kiss,

brandishing our newfound connection and this date of the seas.

Dancing had been completed, but playing had not,

so we kept swimming to our heart's delight.

Racing one another and showing me who’s boss

I connected to the wild without an ounce of fright.

Because Yuki and Kira could never be mean

they belong to a species gentle and serene.

Curious, playful, and intelligent to boot

kind, mild-tempered, wise like a man should

be if we hadn’t forgotten our roots

if we still treasured Mother Earth with everything we could.

Yes, my lovelies would have been better served in the seas,

but I take solace in knowing they were rescued from a bad situation

and rehabilitation was no longer an option.

***

Kira and Yuki filled me with wonder

touching inside me a string long forgotten.

Peace, tranquility, and happiness too

this is what those majestic souls

gifted me with into the blue.

***

Since meeting them my list suffered some changes

becoming more attuned to experience that merges

mind, body, spirit, and my inner nature

more mindful of everything that hops, slithers, pounces,

sings or simply graces

this wonderful place we call home.

***

Never forget that we’re not land-owners but guests

and we must be careful of how we progress,

to respect nature and cherish all its children

thus ensuring a future not coarse but silken.

Dear reader,

As always, thank you for joining me on a new adventure. If Kira and Yuki sparked something in you, feel free to share the love by whatever means you see fit.

nature poetry
22

About the Creator

A.M.Radulescu

Certified bookworm, published author, hopeful dreamer, passionate traveller, cat lover, life enthusiast. Writing about life and self-growth. Get my debut novel at https://www.amazon.com/dp/B09JRJ3P5T

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.