Poets logo

Sweetie A.K.A Spike, Cujo, Dire wolf - the Gangster Girl

A poem about four legged love

By Bonnie BowermanPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
4
Sweetie A.K.A Spike, Cujo, Dire wolf - the Gangster Girl
Photo by Ana Kai on Unsplash

She is a fluffy bundle of white fur, immaculately groomed - a stunning Coton de Tulear.

Lurking within the adorable pup cuteness, though is fanged, volcanic, madness just waiting to erupt.

She is like the killer rabbit on Monty Python’s killer rabbit sketch but scarier by a long stretch.

Other dogs no matter, what the size start quaking and cower, when her eyes flash murder and she launches to devour.

I must brace all my weight on the leash to stop her in-air flights, deftly aiming to rip, bite and annihilate.

Sometimes she swings back behind me, a pink, harnessed pendulum of writhing, snarling, ferocity. “Oh dear” I sigh deeply, “I need a rear-view mirror!”

They found her with her mouth taped shut, missing teeth, bones broken, white fur matted red.

Years of vicious abuse and unrelenting terror have scarred her deep, leaving her with grim, nightmares of untold horror in her sleep.

Convulsing, whimpering, and shaking in fear, I dare not touch her then, instead, softly whisper in her ear.

“It is ok. It is ok. You are safe. It is all going to be ok now. “Wake up Sweetie I am here.”

love poems
4

About the Creator

Bonnie Bowerman

Just a curious soul with a crayon, at the beginning of my writing journey. There were many absorbing detours along the way.

I am so happy, I stumbled upon this community. The depth of talent here, takes my breath away!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶3 months ago

    Well written… you made her come alive on the page… wonderful that she now has such a loving Mum!🤩

  • I'm so happy and relieved to know that she is safe with you now. Loved your poem!

  • Andrea Corwin 3 months ago

    Oh, no, truly a bait dog? 🤬 The Little ones try to be fierce to show they are tough, but the abused ones … 🥲. nicely written. I loved it. We fostered medically fragile pets for years.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.