Poets logo

Sweetheart

You are more than you have ever been

By ThatWriterWomanPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dear Cosmo,

You, sweetie, are the cutest Labrador I have ever seen,

Though I may be biased – you are my best friend,

How much I love you, I never could have foreseen,

It had a beginning but shows no end.

We brought you home, wrapped in a blanket,

It had pictures of cartoon bones on it; blue,

You thought my shoelaces were a banquet,

You chewed them straight through.

Now you are eight years old,

Your face is frosted with age,

Gone is your coat of gold,

You are moving to a new stage.

Forgive me my observations, sweetheart,

I think you are more handsome than ever,

Your unchanged eyes, a beautiful work of art,

My treasure - forever.

Sincerely, your human companion.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A/N: This is an entry for the Vocal Epistolary Challenge! I hope it was enjoyable to read (and tugged at some heartstrings!). This was a great excuse to look at some old photos of my dog!

Thank you for reading! Please like, comment, and subscribe to be notified when I post. Also, you can follow me here on Twitter or Facebook!

performance poetrysad poetrynature poetrylove poems
1

About the Creator

ThatWriterWoman

Welcome!

Writer from the UK (she/her, 25) specializing in fictional tales of the most fantastical kind! Often seen posting fables, myths, and poetry!

See my pinned for the works I am most proud of!

Proud member of the LGBT+ community!

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    This was beautiful and brought a smile to my face! Made me think of my own pup that I miss very much! Great work, TWW! 💜

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.