Poets logo

Sweet Tooth

A poem about my long battle with refined sugar addiction

By Talia DevoraPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
9
Sweet Tooth
Photo by Heather Ford on Unsplash

I was a sweet tooth

who couldn't stop craving

candies, cookies, ice cream and cake.

It was an addiction that

I wanted to stop

but I was unable to.

The aroma of sugar

made me drown in

my own pool of syrup.

The sight of ice cream

made me freeze

like an igloo.

I was consumed with

sweets and sugar

like I was about

to go on an edible drug overdose.

It was perilous

like smoke penetrating

my brain, belly and throat.

The sound of cookies baking

made me run to the kitchen.

The touch of goopy custard

made me sticky like taffy.

The sweet smack of chocolate

made my stomach roar

like a lion in the jungles of Africa.

I was a sweet tooth

who couldn't stop thinking about

Oreo cookies, hot fudge sundaes, Dairy Queen blizzards and cotton candy milkshakes.

Artificial sugar was my narcotic

that made me high as a kite

and stoned as a rock.

Thank you so much for reading my poem! My hope is to educate anyone who was struggling or is currently struggling with binge eating and refined sugar addiction. If you liked this poem, please share, click on the heart button, send me a tip and visit my public profile for more poems and stories! If you want to connect with me, follow me on Instagram @naturalbibliophile22. Have a great week! 💕🌺✌🏻

PS: This poem is also published on one of my other poetry blogs which I’ll link down below!

inspirational
9

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Leslie Writes2 months ago

    Is it wrong that this made me crave sweet things?

  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    Hopefully your information will educate other!!! Superbly expressed & loved it!!!💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.