Poets logo

Sweet Jambalaya

A Children's Story

By Tralyne Published 4 years ago 7 min read
1

Willow Fields Elementary was a school of learning and fun

Nestled in a big oak tree

Kissed by the sun

Surrounded by fields of grass

And a lake nearby

Beautiful flowers populated the ground

While birds dawned the sky

Students came from far and near

Excited to face a new day

Each one different

They made a beautiful array

Tybe Caterpillar was made of many colors.

On his back were reds, oranges, purples, and blues

His tummy had rainbow colors too.

Tybe had friends

Lots of Friends you see

At least it seemed like many to him

It was only three

But each of his friends were as different as can be

Sammy squirrel whose coat was furry and full

Liked to find acorns on her way to school

Sammy would Nibble and laugh

And Nibble and laugh some more

Sammy would make silly faces

And fall on the floor

Sammy was bashful

She didn’t like having a boy’s name

Especially because she was a girl

Her name made her feel shame

Sammy was short for Samantha

Her grandmothers’ name

But being called Sammy

Made her feel awful just the same

Puey the skunk was Tybe’s friend too

He walked with a waddle

And talked while he chewed

His friends loved to surprise him

Because they knew

Whenever he was frightened

Puey would let out at “toot”

A “toot” that would clear their walkway to school

They called it their “secret weapon”

To them, it was so cool

Katey Lady, the ladybug was definitely a sight

A bug with really huge glasses

And an even bigger overbite

She snorted when she laughed

And strained to see

The smallest object

Or the largest tree

The four of them never noticed their differences

When it was Tybe and the three

Until others came around

That wouldn’t let them be

The pointed out Tybe’s color

And Kateys big teeth

Puey was called a Big Stinky

And Sammy; a Freak

The others in their school

Were mean and cruel

They poked fun

And even pushed them in the pool

They weren’t nice at all

And this made them feel sad

Tybe, Katey, and Puey went home feeling bad

But Sammy was just plain mad

Why do we let them do this, Sammy said

Bullies are bad news

Tybe Caterpillar starting crying

Crying the Blues

“What’s so wrong with my colors?

My mom says I’m unique

My blues and purples are fun, she says

And my rainbow in “Manu fique”

Yeah said Puey Skunk

You are my unique friend indeed

Seeing your colors every day helped me

To name the colors I see

I couldn’t do it before

I mixed up my purples with blues

I didn’t know red from orange

Even yellow too

Tybe was starting to feel better

And changed his tune

He smiled a big happy smile

That was as big as the moon

But Sammy’s head was still hung low

She felt so much anger and shame

For being called the funny looking girl

With the boy name

“I hate my name,” Sammy exclaimed

Why me? Why me?

I don’t like being picked at, she said

As she hid behind the tree

Katey Lady pulled her by the arm

And put her wing under her chin

There Is nothing wrong with your name

Hold your head up my friend

Your Grandma is strong

And shared her name, With a Squirrel just as strong as she

You’re not a boy

But a beautiful girl

Take a look in this mirror

And SEE

Those fluffy cheeks and bushy tail

Carry great stories

That only you can tell

Sammy felt better

And could smile again

Looking in the mirror

She smiled at her friend

So on to school

The next day they went

Everybody happy

Everyone content

Mrs. P was their favorite teacher

But quite different you see

She always wore a sweater,

no matter the weather

That seemed to have something underneath

She greeted them in the morning

With smiles and promises

Of learning and fun

The students knew it was true

So to their desks, they’d run

Hurrying to get their day started

Following classroom procedures of course

They rushed to unpack their bags

And make their lunch choice

Morning announcements and then the pledge

Every day they anticipated

what was ahead,

Each child excited to be the lead

To say the daily affirmations

The Kindergarten creed

Sammy was chosen

She had them down to a T

Class, Please repeat after me

I am Great

I am powerful

Nothing can stop me

But me

I am infinite potential

And insurmountable possibilities

I am not dumb

I am not ugly

I am not a mistake

I am

And I can

Sho Nuff

Show me your muscles

Each of the children flexed

Showing muscles that were huge in their minds

While Mrs. P smiled

Her heart filled with pride

They added numbers

With teddy bears and blocks

Sammy used her braids

To add the strands that interlocked

It was time for Science fun

Weather was the lesson

They formed clouds in plastic bottles

Until Music was in session

They danced and they sang

Songs about America’s beauty

They even dressed in hats and costumes

Tybe got to wear a goatee

Katey Ladybug squealed in excitement

And danced with glee

As they ventured to the playground

For Recess and P.E.

While doing pushups

And winning the contest at hand

Puey let out a toot

And all the children ran

With embarrassment flushing his face

Puey said I’m sorry

And ran away in haste

Andre fox was not far behind

With his crew of two

They laughed, pointed fingers

And said, ‘That why no one wants to play with you”

You’re fat and ugly

And you waddle from side to side

Your friends told you that you’re funny

But they lied

Mrs. P was watching

As Puey ran away

She made her way to the crying skunk

Who in a tire lay

Hi Puey Mrs. P said

What’s wrong with my friend

Puey lowered his head

Tears running off his chin

Tybe stood near

He wanted to comfort his friend

Katey Ladybug shed a tear

Sammy said, Andre fox strikes again

He makes us feel bad

About what he can see

He picks at Katey Lady’s glasses

Tybe’s many colors, and me

Mrs. P. removed her sweater

For all the children to see

Their eyes wide in amazement

Could this really be?

A beautiful fan of colors spread before their eyes

You see the “P” stood for Peacock

All of the children gasped in surprise

You are unique and different, she said

And that’s ok

Everything about you was purposely made that way

Your differences are marks of beauty

That no one else has just like you

So don’t let anyone make you feel bad

You see, I am different too

Fan lady, and Skinny Legs

There were people who called me names

They didn’t care how mean they were

They made me feel shame

I didn’t like myself

I felt sad all the time

I started hiding my feathers

I felt smaller than a dime

But Ms. P., Puey said

We would have never known

You’re still hiding

Your feathers you’ve never shown

She shook her head in agreement

And understood what she had to do

She made sure everyone was ready to go in side

And then said “Shoo”!

The next day at school was different

The children were in for a treat

They had no idea but they began to cheer

As they took their seats

Before their eyes

There appeared

An unexpected surprise

Mrs. P was definitely a sight to see

Her feathers were uncovered

And out in full fan

She had on some very thick glasses

And a picture book in her hand

All the colors of the rainbow waved as she swayed

And told the story of the characters

In the picture book on display

She pointed to squirrels of all colors

Skunks of all shapes

Caterpillars and Ladybugs

All unique in their own way

They all had different things that they did well

No one was quite the same

They all had cool stories

Even some super cool names

The children watched in amazement

As Mrs. P walked and fanned

Her beauty was amazing

The children began to stand

Sammy proudly stood to say

My name is Sammy

Named after my Grammy

That’s unique in every way

And I'm not ashamed

Of my thick lips and kinky hair

I'm from a proud people

Who cares if you stare?

I AM GREAT!

Tybe stood next

Stuck out his colored chest

My colors are cool

I like being this way

My Mohawk is different

What can I say?

I'm here to stay

I AM POWERFUL

Puey began to laugh

And let out a toot

When you hear that sound

Stand and salute

Sure it smells bad

And if I could help it, I would

But sometimes it comes out

Hey its Bueno, which means its all good

NOTHING CAN STOP ME BUT ME

Katey Ladybug

timid yet proud

Stood to speak

But her voice wasn’t too loud

I have really thick glasses

So I can see

But they are apart of my beauty

My Asian is beautiful

My people are sweet

I'm glad that I am the way I am

And I think my wings are neat

I AM INFINITE POTENTIAL!

The rest of the class stood to cheer

And they completed the chant

They’d learned all year

As they recited each line

Mrs. P’s feathers began to shine

Her mission was accomplished

She helped the children to see

Their outer and inner uniqueness

Which makes the world

A place of beauty

childrens poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.