Poets logo

Swaggy's mate

Best friends along an Aussie road

By Anne van AlkemadePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

We was mates,

you and me.

We seen some times together.

We trekked across

this ol’ place

like it would be forever.

We was mates

right from day one.

I saw yez by the road.

You mangy bastard,

you woz starved

and yer ribs they bloody showed.

Me? I was done.

I’d been alone

and nothin’ would go right.

I dropped me swag

and me hitchin’ thumb

and hunkered for the night.

Then I saw yez

standin’ there,

watchin’ as I fell.

Yer wagged yer tail,

grinned yer grin

and I reckon you could tell.

We were kin

you and me,

wantin’ nothin’ from no one;

just do our stuff

and earth our floor

and the roof above us, sun.

So I checked me bag,

took out me tucker;

reckoned it would do for two.

Yer licked yer lips,

stepped once, stepped twice

and picked up what I threw.

That night we slept,

curled in our hump,

ya pillowed me poor head.

If it weren’t for you,

my ol’ mate,

next mornin’ I woulda been dead.

The maggies warbled,

the kookas kooked,

as the sun peeped through the bush.

I picked up me swag,

ya jumped to yer feet,

and yeah, I could give it another push.

Me mate and me,

from that day,

we never lost our stride -

until today,

five years gone by,

I woke up …

and you had died.

So now again

I’m alone

and I never knew yer name.

It mattered none

‘cause when I was done

yer come and kindled me flame.

My little mate,

you knew me well.

We never said a thing.

Just understood,

within, what was good

and took what life would bring.

So now I say

goodbye me mate.

You’ve been my very best friend.

I hope one day

We’ll meet again

When it’s time for my own end.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.