Poets logo

Surviving Me

#MyLifeThroughPoetry

By Crystal MelvillePublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by JR Korpa on Unsplash

Some parents are all-in, some disappear,

most simply can't escape their sin.

The system raised me, made me insecure,

I never felt pure, most of all never sure.

Young adulthood came with a roar, the stench

of bloody days, coupled with inconsistent ways;

I was just too tired, to find the strength to soar.

Marriage came early, a nice thought it seemed,

but I was merely a baby never weaned.

Divorce hit hard. Too many deeds to mention;

no wonder my life was in such dissension.

Death tried to poke its ugly head prematurely,

after a turbulent disconnect; I had learned to be

thankful for the religious sect.

Back to the drawing board, I went, to grad school,

to work; at times some thought I was hell-bent.

But, I never gave up, for poverty, lack,

and low self-esteem never filled my cup.

All in all, it's because I learned to forgive, seek wisdom,

and understanding, that I then decided to live,

and proudly be on the path to surviving me.

Credits:

Crystal E. Melville is a certified relationship assessment facilitator, life coach, who enjoys writing and sharing her life stories through poetry, and transformational teachings. She also offers support for those who have gone through a divorce or experienced a tragic injury or loss. You may get to know her more by visiting her website at www.crystalemelville.com. Get social, follow her on Instagram and Twitter!

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Crystal Melville

Hi, I'm Crystal Melville! I'm a Chaplain, Certified Relationship Coach, Poet, and Writer. Get to know me better here: www.crystalemelville.com. You may follow me on social media @cemelville on Twitter, and @bishopmelville on Instagram!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.