Poets logo

Surviving Dad (Dedicated to My Beautiful Sister Michelle

By: Carlton A. Armistad

By Andrew LittlePublished 2 months ago 3 min read
2
Artwork courtesy of Caroline Rone & the Afro-Art Tribal Group (FB Pages), March 1st, 2024

1.

He had 1 very important job, to look after his 2 Boys and beautiful daughter

Back by the help & support of 2 strong and loving Mothers

I idolized the Man, for a long time

To Me, Dad could not commit no foreseeable Crime

It was this blinded trust, that created the life-changing fuss

Now to look at Him, here His Voice, or even try to understand or validate His choices

Tears at my very being, God Almighty, how could take my Precious irreplaceable Mom

Anchoring Us to Torture and pain, because He and the things He did to Me are things that can't be undone.

2.

No more than 10 years old, and very bright with knowledge in abundance

Getting great grades, and other accolades all in the name of making my parents proud

Was I perfect, far from, I was that child that you had to keep an eye on

Taught to clean and look after the house, laughing and making jokes until my Sister would kick out.

Stumbled Home blinding drunk He did, one very rainy night, woke my brother and sister and I to sit at the Dining table

Burnt into my Memory was his viscous treatment & cruelty to Me

A hand ten times my human strength travelled to my eyes with so much vengeance and force

My bladder force to release onto the dining chair, and my sight turned to a wretched black darkness with my river of tears seeking to know why?

Hospital for 2 days then collected by my Mom, safe from that Animal whose loins I was sired from.

3.

Incidents like the one told above, happened over the rest of my childhood years

When the burden became too much, I fled to another part of the World, knowing my Abuser would not follow

Older and a father now, I vowed never to have my child live with fears

As I have done for all these days, and in so many ways watching my damaged soul age into the decades of pain, hollow.

The difficulty with being a survivor of these tragic actions, is that you focus solely on your suffering

Shocked was I, and even I still cry when my older Sister gave her Account of the sadistic unchangeable criminal actions the He our Father to her dished out

Only 15, a star student and beautiful to every eye, this degenerate would enter her room drunk and seek to see and touch, parts of My precious Sister, a Father must not.

4.

Shocked, scared and confused as to how Dad, and His hands that fed her, bottles of milk, that nurtured her as She drank

Could rob her of her innocence and destroy her very life essence by wrongly touching her, hurting her, shattering the girl in her

Then sit at breakfast smiling as nothing had happened before.

Boys being boys, my brother and I never notice the shame and torturing pain you could see from the stained tears that flowed from My beautiful Sister Eyes.

Older now and with a clearer understanding of this Creature, I was very much free but He could still reach her, awaken old wounds, fears, scars and tears.

Aborting a child, because it was conceived in the vilest of ways, my Sister bore this loss, tragedy, situation of inhumanity all because this Creature armed with the excuse he was drunk

Went from being our Father, to a vile, depraved, deranged Wrong-on, no one any of His children asked for or could want.

5.

Twenty five years, I have been away and chillingly afraid to go back, as for all our pain, with nothing to gain, other than gargantuan Loss, and buckets of Tears

Looking at him now, Dad tries to hide his many sins, from all the souls he has destroyed, shredded, ended.

I can't face Him; My own flesh and blood, everything that sane between Us, my Mom kept intact.

Cancer took her from Us, Me unable to see Her to say goodbye, left with this fading Creature to care for and grant happy remaining years.

God, they say You have a plan for every single man, where in Your plan did you think giving Us to this empty evil soul to call Father, the right and true road?

Broken, any trust I had in humans, as to what is left of me, the mirror shows me nobody, but I have to fight on and stand strong by my Sister side.

[END]

Familysurreal poetryslam poetryfact or fiction
2

About the Creator

Andrew Little

Carlton A. Armistad is the pseudonym for Andrew R. Little. I prefer writing under this as it allows me to look at any body of work I complete separate to my personal day-to-existence, and safeguards my relationships and family.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen27 days ago

    I am so sorry you all had to endure this, life can be so unfair. Should he not have been in prison. Still live goes on and one must cope as best as possible. Prayers to your family.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.