Poets logo

Surprise

By Morgan Richardson

By Morgan RichardsonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I took a walk on a moonlit trail, and I was shocked to come across a little girl. She was cold and bleak and did not initially speak but she looked as though she was waiting. She was young and frail, and I could not leave her alone on this ghostly moonlit trail. So I looked into her deep dark eyes and asked “what are you waiting for" she whispered “surprise”. So even though I thought her eerie, I sat beside her for the night alone I had grown too weary.

We sat for an hour alone and nothing had changed, so I turned to the girl and asked her name. She said “it's Lilly now please sit silently for if you make too much noise surprise may flee from me”.

I could feel my stomach turn, the butterflies within began to churn. My next thought was to leave, but my mind began to race, what could surprise be? Lilly read my thoughts, or so it seemed, and whispered “wait patiently”, so i did.

Hours began to roll by and the earth got cold, my face became ice and my hands felt stiff and old. Suddenly, Lily began to smile and beam, she whispered “surprise will be here soon, but please don't scream”. Do not scream I thought, should I be afraid? What kind of child have I next to laid? My heart began to beat ever faster, and my breath became ragged and fluttered. What could I do, what could I say? I just knew from this child I had to get away.

I began to stand and as if she knew she said “miss please, surprise would not like for your waiting to cease, it would be best for you to sit for he is growing near”, then she put her little hand up and cupped her ear.

I was frozen with anticipation at what I was about to see, but it was fear I felt when a figure I saw moving at a very low speed. It cast a shadow taller than a tree, it blocked out the moon so its face I could not see. It was when it stopped that I was hit with the realization that Surprise was a creation from this girl's imagination.

childrens poetry
Like

About the Creator

Morgan Richardson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.