Poets logo

sunstroke

a confession: I’m having an affair

By Chloë J.Published 12 months ago 1 min read
2
sunstroke
Photo by Byron Johnson on Unsplash

I love you best in your death throes.

Those fleeting few moments you cling,

in resplendence, to survival.

Seduction in a thousand shades.

Irradiant gold wearing the

faces of other hues, as if

your ray-bound beauty could be a

tether. I can’t help but roll my

eyes at your desperation. I

find your ostentatiousness a

bit much-if we’re being honest-

even with your peacocking, I

love you in your temporary

death. My love is conditional.

I recognize my need for you

at your apex. I’m grateful for

your light, and the life you sow with

your sunbeam trowels. I need you.

I know that. But I don’t love you,

not then. The hues of your birth and

your death, I crave. Ephemeral,

you’re lent a grace your violence oft

lacks. Your birth, I find beauty in,

but you death heralds the coming

of the one I love with not a

single condition. All of her

faces, I adore. Throughout the

hours of her watch, I am enthralled.

You are garish; she is grace. Your

death makes her seen. So I’ll watch your

daily execution with such

eagerness to tend your sister.

fact or fiction
2

About the Creator

Chloë J.

Probably not as funny as I think I am

Insta @chloe_j_writes

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Rob Angeli11 months ago

    Much applause!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.