Poets logo

SUNSHINE

AND FOR NEW FRIENDS!to follow..

By Victor MendezPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
friends are footprints in your life

Apr 10, 2015, 1:49 PM

SUNSHINE...

Lines my face with age,

Another day, another page.

I sit, I ponder...

Shallow thoughts.

Blood, sweat, and not a few tears,

These previous things have dearly bought!

I touch you in my memories,

Cascading joys and miseries.

Yet!...I wake again

To song of life,

To battle then,

Pick up the strife.

My loves I count upon my hands,

My joys,

My life at my command!

How short is time?

How time is short!

How long is death?

These things too deep

For my short breath...Come,

Let us rejoice!

So much life left,

It is your choice!

Age is my friend,

Not my enemy,

With wisdom it comes,

Thus a friend to me.

Knowing so I propose a toast

To gods somewhere,

Lest ye think to boast,

I am greater than my holy host.

So lift your cup in recompense

In slightly unctuous eloquence:

TO sip of life is to be happy,

TO share with you, my friends and family,

TO taste your laughter in my heart,

TO love, even that, time cannot tear apart!

TO you, my friend, that read this now...

That we meet someday, somewhere, somehow!

PEACE!

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Victor Mendez

Born in 1958.There's a lot of road beneath these feet.Worn out pairs upon pairs of shoes.Been a ranch kid,a city kid,a Marine,a dad, a grandfather now,an avid reader and just recently began writing poetry in 2015 just to vent.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.