Poets logo

Sunshine and Spaghetti

Gratefulness

By Shirley BelkPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
4
I watched you

Today was a good day

You were nice to me

We didn't argue or fight

We were able to give back and forth

And have a few random words

I enjoyed seeing you doing things you like to do...like yard work

I enjoyed cooking for us

And for us eating together

It made the spaghetti taste better

I took a long, long nap

And the sleep was the best I've had in days

Because before that

You had been mad at the world and at me

Maybe it was the warmer weather and the sunshine

That caused the peace between us,

But I think it was my prayers

inspirationalnature poetry
4

About the Creator

Shirley Belk

Mother, Nana, Sister, Cousin, & Aunt who recently retired. RN (Nursing Instructor) who loves to write stories to heal herself and reflect on all the silver linings she has been blessed with

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming6 months ago

    I loved this. The tension of the relationship and the peace of long needed sleep, by the sounds of it. I sensed the relief but also the strength of faith and how it supports you.

  • Awww, this was so lovely! Such wonderful poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.