Poets logo

Sunflower

Strength

By Erin CuellarPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Sunflower
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

The many conversations planted the seed so many years ago

There was too much shade blocking the seed from being able to grow

The way that you looked at me, the sound of your voice

Those memories held tight during the darkness when it felt like there was no choice

And then a break in the clouds and some light was let in

Her smile was back, was this really destine?

The seed began to grow, faster than ever

Storms continued to flood, but her voice was the light to trigger

The growth of the sunflower as it peeks through the mud

Reassurance she provides demonstrates that I can handle this crud

Her embrace allows growth in the leaves as it is ok to move up

The head of the flower gains strength from her love and says it is ok to jump

Headfirst I will go, and it is a bit scary

The sunflower grows taller as they both are now ready

This love is all new, but it feels very old

Like the sun shining in they are no longer left cold

Her dimples, her smile, the way she says my name

It is food for the sunflower, there is no longer any shame

This love runs so deep like the roots of the plant

She helps me move forward even when I think that I can’t

I hope that she knows how much I love all that she is

She is beautiful like the sunflower, a ray of light I do miss

I will spend my lifetime to show her what she means to me

I want nothing more than to hold her gleefully

This love it shines bright and strong like the sunflower does

Every day growing stronger not just because

I will spend my eternity looking below and above

To show her just how much of her I do love

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Erin Cuellar

I love writing. It is a great outlet and I am excited to learn from folks on here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.