Poets logo

Sundays on Vocal

a rambling of insanity

By Kayleigh Fraser ✨Published 25 days ago Updated 25 days ago 1 min read
Sundays on Vocal
Photo by averie woodard on Unsplash

hello, is there anybody out there”

silence echoes in the stillness

“has everybody left me here alone?”

.

“yessss”

hisses the wind

“you have exactly as you wished for”

.

“but I made that wish years ago”

I heard the whine in my tone

“I don’t want it now”

.

“you don’t choosssse the durationss”

the sibilation sounded mocking

“you wissshed thiss many timess”

.

the wind was right, of course.

I had wished repeatedly to be alone.

but not because I wanted to be alone.

.

“but I didn’t mean like this!”

a single tear dropped from my cheek to the sand.

“not for this length of time”

.

“then why wisshhh so many timess?”

his condescension was pungent

“you ask, you reccceice”

.

“but I needed to be alone THEN, not now”

he knew he had triggered me

“please take me home”

.

“I can only carry your wishesss”

he danced the sand into a whirl

“and thissss”

.

“then where did you carry them”

petulance all but stomped my foot

“for the past two years?”

.

“to the ssame placce as alwaysss”

he was smiling mockingly

“they choosse the timingsss”

.

I stood in the silence between us

angered and impatient

for my dream to end

.

surreal poetryFree VerseFor Fun

About the Creator

Kayleigh Fraser ✨

philosopher, alchemist, writer & poet with a spirit of fire & passion for all things health & love related 💫

“When life gives you lemons,

Know you are asking for them.

If you want oranges, focus on oranges”

🍊🍋💥🍋🍊

INSTAGRAM - kayzfraser

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • Rick Henry Christopher 20 days ago

    Wonderful work Kayleigh!!! This is a strong and powerful poem. Excellent as always!!!

  • Cathy holmes22 days ago

    I like how hear the wind in the way you wrote this. And yeah, sometimes I want to be alone, but not all the time.

  • Well, that's how life is, ain't it? Sometimes, we never get what we wished for. Sometimes, we get it when we no longer want it. Oh well 🤷‍♀️🤷‍♀️

  • Andrea Corwin 25 days ago

    Oh, we must be so careful what we wish for, in happy or sad times. You conveyed it well, beautifully, tragically!

  • Christy Munson25 days ago

    Ssssentssssational! Love this poem! Sad and full of regret, but deliciously so

  • Sadly that voice is too familiar. Wonderfully expressed

  • shanmuga priya25 days ago

    Thought-provoking poem!

  • Hannah Moore25 days ago

    Sometimes, when I have a migraine, there is a peverse pleasure in being at once alone in my bed, and hearing my family going about their business downstairs. Alone and not alone.

Kayleigh Fraser ✨Written by Kayleigh Fraser ✨

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.