Poets logo

Sun's Daughter

A woman waiting for her own dawn.

By Sarah PenneyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Sun's Daughter
Photo by What Is Picture Perfect on Unsplash

I am the sun’s daughter

Lost in the liminality of a temporality

I never thought was mine.

In my mother-less evenings, I dance

With passing comets who seek to meet me

And sleep with my sister’s lover

Knowing she can never stay till dawn.

By Javier Allegue Barros on Unsplash

I used to find perfection in completeness

Believing if I was all or nothing

Maybe I’d be whole, perfectly distilled.

I loved those who sought to bury me

And gave those who wanted to scale me

Spiked shoes and my arterial map.

I did not choose honor-bound climbers

To hold in their hands

The secrets of my valleys and glens.

By Vangelis Batsikostas on Unsplash

And so now they say I lay conquered

Having given all I can give

To those who cared not what they had.

I am in pieces

Neither distilled nor perfect

Known and lone.

I find wholeness in my pieces

And in this dream-filled darkness

I’ve refashioned my tallest peaks

And winding rivers into something

unknown once more.

By Bailey Zindel on Unsplash

Though I walk in my valleys a stranger

I fear not the marks on their slopes nor

The scars on my belly.

I am the sun’s daughter

Though my past lay in shadow behind

I am turned to the horizon

Ready for my own first light.

By Sara Kurfeß on Unsplash

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Sarah Penney

Writer, graphics designer, and adventure-haver. I focus on slice of life anecdotes, travel pieces, and the occasional deep dives into science, film, books, and anything else that catches my fancy. ME and DC.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.