Poets logo

Summer's Haunt

Jeffery C. Ford

By Jeff FordPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2

Passion and gold dust break out of the sea

We two on our atoll’s windward strands

My girl makes high work of shoulders and hands

A lookout, main mast, a crow’s nest of me

Sky touches sea ‘round, with naught to seize on.

And she high up my neck, no ghost ship spied

Foam mermaids were swallowed, a sea witch scried

She slid off my back, a sybarites frisson

Broken bottle blue lifts the toile de jouy

She shook again, skin blue as a wave be

“The witch said I would be swallowed tonight

‘A man would pour me and drink me away.

‘Mermaid of foam and none to save me.”

She made no move to set the dress a-right.

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Jeff Ford

Restarting Bio. Worked as a physician for about 30 years. Disabled. Now I write, because I can.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.