Poets logo

Summer Beach Body

Summer Sonnet

By Katy StuffPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3
A gorgeous Summer day at the beach.

Summer beach body in only four weeks

Drink this! Buy that! Fad Diet! Lose weight quick!

Slim down. Tone up. Bikini belly. Butt cheeks.

Ignominy. Shame. Self-conscious. Hate. Sick.

Round curves and thick thighs, my body is wrong

Imperfect skin touched by glowing, warm sun

Muscles that swim are more supple and strong

Beach time is meant to be glorious fun

Summers come and go as I grow with age

Wrinkles, sun spots, tired, aches and joint pains

Body less perfect with each fleeting stage

But joy at the seaside still runs in my veins

Now more at peace with my imperfection,

These days I look at myself with affection

social commentary
3

About the Creator

Katy Stuff

I'm interested in creativity (painting, craft, writing, renovating) and education. I feel pretty novice and unconfident with writing, so I'm really enjoying the challenges on Vocal as a way of experimenting a strengthening my skills.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.