Poets logo

suffocated

free verse

By Aathavi ThangesPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
6
suffocated
Photo by Damon Lam on Unsplash

suffocating on what used to be love

turned inside out, it's poison in my blood

you're half of the whole, of all my bad parts

running through my veins, forgetting what i've lost

still, i’m sinking in what only ever deepens

rock bottom’s never bottom, the grounds have only weakened

there’s always more to lose, more of you to bruise

worse never comes to worst

when your heart’s been split in two

my love’s not really love if i’m always overthinking,

a pity to be waiting

if it’s not reciprocated

sick of suffocating

leave me bare and naked

while everybody’s watching,

just take my heart and break it.

heartbreak
6

About the Creator

Aathavi Thanges

Disposing my thoughts one page at a time

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock8 months ago

    Been there, done that, still there, my friend.

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Fabulously written!!! Heartbreaking!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.