Poets logo

#Subscribe, Like, Follow

Attention seekers only

By Je'Neille SwartzPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - August 2022
Image sourced from VistaCreate

Attention! Attention!

I’ve got a few things to mention

I’ve always got something to say

Constantly, always at times on repeat

Platforms let my voice be heard

The comments and likes set me apart from the herd

What I say matters, right?

five likes

What I do is important, right?

two followers

Create that content, make it real

Wait, what? Do you mean I am not for real?

As I wait, as I watch

As I remain unwatched

As I look to engage

I am numb, disengaged

Who am I? Who are they? Who are WE?

In the age of access, we remain enslaved

To the excess and not-enoughness, we become enraged

Hashtags and like

Subscribe and follow

Clickbait

Scroll down

I am not that shallow!

Let me brag

Let me live

Envy my nice things

Even if it is…the only thing

With the right angle and enough likes

I can make that money, increase insights

And they’ll know who I am

Dripping in gold, rich as honey

Who am I? Who are they? Who are WE?

I don’t care, nor do they

As long as we remain...

engaged

enslaved

outraged

subscribed

liked and

followed

social commentary

About the Creator

Je'Neille Swartz

I can't stop thinking about writing. Being a writer is like being an artist, you are either exceptional or inconsequential. Honestly, I've been afraid of both. I promised myself I would DO one small thing that scared me. So, here I am.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Arbab2 years ago

    True words

  • Deasun T. Smyth2 years ago

    I now what you mean. I'm 15, and nether owned a phone (what use is it? asides the obvious) nor a computer. I don't do snap chat or tick tock, face book and twitter. it's all a waste of time, I mean if I wanted to feel bad about myself; I'll just wear a polka-dotted skirt, and walk into a night club.

  • Emily Dickerson2 years ago

    I found so much freedom in letting my little Etsy shop die. I was a slave to trying to promote it, get likes, get clicks. God has other plans for my life. I don't have to sell art or crafts to be successful. I just have to be faithful and let Him lead me. Trust in the Lord has dealt a severe blow to the anxiety that the Devil was selling me on my phone.

  • C M Prosso2 years ago

    Agh, I feel your pain!

  • Adrian Belfeuil2 years ago

    What do you think will be the long term affect of this social media era?

  • Maervel2 years ago

    Great thoughts on a relatable topic.

  • Darby S. Fisher2 years ago

    I have been feeling the pressure from platforms lately. Getting attention isn't rewarding, but not getting attention feels worse. The algorithms feel fickle and unfair. How am I to boost engagement when the platforms buries the post? And then they want posts on a regular (if not daily) basis. No time to rest, just time to post. For what? Anyway, thanks for sharing. You are not alone.

  • This comment has been deleted

Je'Neille SwartzWritten by Je'Neille Swartz

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.