Poets logo

Strip Search

Coming to terms...

By Lamar WigginsPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
"Next!"

Peel away

the scar tissue

from my soul,

to reveal a

deeper wound,

inflicted

why

did he

introduce me

to this

seething pain?

why

does he laugh

when I undress

my vulnerable

thoughts

toward indiscretion?

Who made him

king

of everything

anyway?

I was merely

a jester

to his corrupt

throne...

I don't care to be

the caretaker

of delicate

emotions

I don't want to live

as a silent soldier

in an army

against

white lies...

Time

to stand on

solid ground

and trust

what I know

Time

to weave

new clothes,

and bury the old ones

that are stained

with

issues of trust

Time

to plant new seeds,

as this harvest

only yields

regrettable

regret

Time

to move on

and open

a promising

chapter

worth reading

~

It was your choice

to begin setting

wildfires

It is my choice

to extinguish

the embers

that linger...

Because,

he who cheats

is a coward

amongst thieves!

*** *** *** *** ***

Thanks for stopping by.

This poem was written for a friend but represents anyone who has had to experience the unfortunate reality of infidelity. If you enjoyed this, please check out another progressively inspirational poem below.

inspirationalheartbreak

About the Creator

Lamar Wiggins

Creative writer in the Northeast US who loves the paranormal, mystery, true crime, horror, humor, fantasy and poetry. Take a chance, you'll be thoroughly entertained.

"Life is Love Experienced" -LW

LDubs

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (18)

  • Caroline Janeabout a year ago

    ❤ Truly.

  • Judey Kalchik about a year ago

    Driving, relentless, powerful.

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    You have talent in expressing words , enjoy reading your poem very inspirational. They certainly can move mountains

  • Jason Ray Morton about a year ago

    Intense

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Raw and powerful!!! Left some love!!!

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    That was amazing! I reread several times after you explained the dedication. So earnest and true about the pain infidelity causes. The title is perfect too! ❤️ Well done !

  • Apart from animal abuse, the one thing I would never tolerate is cheating! I'm so sorry for your friend. I hope they're okay now. Loved your poem!

  • Ahna Lewisabout a year ago

    Such powerful words! Excellent job!

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    So much that can be said and commented on here. Your poem is deep and cuts to the core of how hurt people hurt people and confused people end up leaving a storm where they might feel only the calm of the epicenter before it all blows.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    This was full of raw emotion from start to finish. Beautiful words to express such ugly truths. Loved how you could feel the turning point and then the weight of that choice. Really great work!!

  • Dean F. Hardyabout a year ago

    Can physically feel weight lift from the shoulders reading that.

  • Quincy.Vabout a year ago

    really valuable insights and takeaways.

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    Fabulous imagery that flows along beautifully with your chosen structure Lamar. Despite the pain it reveals it compels the reader (me) to jump right in. Very nice indeed!

  • I'm not sure that "enjoyed" is the word I would use for my reaction to this poem. Moved with empathy for & encouraged by their growing resolve to find something/someone better--that's probably more apt. The fact that you wrote this for a friend who has suffered from infidelity gives a pretty good indication of a high capacity for empathy on your part. Well done. One small editorial note: In the ninth line you have, "introduced me," where I believe you intended "introduce me."

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    I feel your pain Lamar! 💔

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    Wow, this one hit home Great job

  • Thavien Yliasterabout a year ago

    When I first read the title I thought this was going to be a fiction story for the flying challenge. I mean, even the line of people waiting too makes sense as well for the thumbnail. Yet, this shocked and surprised me so much more. Sad to say, I do feel sad cause I had a friend that was cheated on before, and now he can no longer be monogamous. I feel sad that he feels like he needs to exact revenge on the world through the use of his body. I understand that it's fine for some relationships, as that's some people's thing, but my friend was only doing so out of pain from being hurt before. This poem resonates the phrase that "hurt people hurt people." I'm glad that Your friend isn't seeking retribution by going around causing pain, cause that would mean that they're only under the ruling thumb of the pain that was done unto them. This is a lovely poem about emotional acceptance and growth, Lamar. Thank You.

Lamar WigginsWritten by Lamar Wiggins

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.