Poets logo

Stretch Your Mind

And open your heart

By Morten JensenPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Stretch Your Mind
Photo by Christophe Hautier on Unsplash

My mind has been stretched in so many directions

By surviving your truth and all your rejections

I can now see what’s in all our reflections

As we’ve torn down the walls to our deepest connections

What you said was hurtful, but I love you all the same

I know that you are right and that this is not a game

My mind has been opened to reflect modern-day

It really doesn’t matter what they do or what they say

This is what we’ve got, and we will choose where we lay

Life is so much simpler when we’re not in our own way

What they said was hurtful, but I love them all the same

I know that I am right and that this is not a game

My heart has been blessed to make room for so much more

I’ve surely changed because I feel it in my core

High above the clouds I am free, and I will soar

No overspill, just so much more I can adore

What I said was painful, but I love you all the same

I know that we are right and that this is not a game

My heart has been touched by your tough armoured soul

You gave me what I needed, and I am now whole

Returning the favour is my committed goal

Allowing us both to complete our roles

What was said was painful, but I love you all the same

I know that all is right and that this is not a game

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Morten Jensen

Lyricist, blogger, nutritionist, coach, gay, accountant, runner, lover of life, and so much more. Helping gay men get unstuck from stress and anxiety.

Work with me: https://www.changeforth.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.