Poets logo

Streaks in the Sky

Three Machines Dance with Death

By Mark Stigers Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Thud Ridge

Two jets streak through the sky,

Over thud ridge two technocrats,

with a dangerous mission to try.

Both will learn cruel facts.

They fly close side by side,

to make one blob,

for the radar eye,

to do one is a tuff job.

Someone down below,

locked on the blob,

and let a SAM* go,

and the ‘troincs did its job

Throw the dice,

Which one gets hit, your bet.

The choice is not nice,

As each dances with death.

The choice is made.

It’s now a cold fact.

One family has a grave.

But I got my father back.

Red poppies,

for the blood lost.

Red poppies,

what is the cost?

Here’s that part for me,

that would be hard to do.

The next day you see,

he was a part of another two.

The day before your wingman’s dead.

Now, you have to do your task.

You must put his death out of your head,

but you ask, “Will this day be my last?”

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Mark Stigers

One year after my birth sputnik was launched, making me a space child. I did a hitch in the Navy as a electronics tech. I worked for Hughes Aircraft Company for quite a while. I currently live in the Saguaro forest in Tucson Arizona

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.