Poets logo

Storm-break

A poem by wordē

By Joshua N (wordē)Published 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

The sky’s getting dark but it’s my time to shine. There’s a wave of excitement leaving behind all these things that I’ve known, and these friends I’ve held onto. It’s a bittersweet feeling, knowing I’m gone soon.

But after all this is the fate I would choose: go where the wind blow, how can you lose? Would I rather stay up here all dreary and bored? Or perhaps find a wave and wash up on the shore?

Sometimes it’s fun, we can all play charades, but that can get tiring day after day. Oh, here’s a good one, let’s find a parade! But I don’t see any this early in May.

A stratospheric waste of space, I’m unusable. The fact I’ve stayed up here so long? Inexcusable. I’ve met some granddrops who really have traveled: from geysers to ski slopes, seen cornfields and gravel.

All they can talk about is where they have been, and how they can’t wait to recycle again. Condense it to say I need to precipitate, once this cloud opens my cares will evaporate.

So I’m ready, I think, as I ever will be. The storm has begun, I’m finally free...

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Joshua N (wordē)

I like to write all kinds of poetry and prose. I have strong opinions but an open mind, I love to analyze things from as many sides as possible. I hope you enjoy my musings :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.