Poets logo

Stories Untold

A Poem

By Kellie GilmanPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Stories Untold
Photo by Jose López Franco on Unsplash

This dreary and restless October night

A faceless demon came into sight

I knew of him, for I’ve seen him before

The demon of fears, insecurities, and more

The darkness that follows and shadows so near

Changes its form, presenting a mirror

The mirror shows a girl, filled with much sorrow

the sadness that reigns and into tomorrow

the darkness returns and swallows me whole

Taking me back to the stories untold

A place where I was completely alone

I created this world all on my own

Family and friends all worry for me

But I tell them, “I’m fine. Now, please leave me be.”

I’ve cried and I’ve cursed, and then gone to bed

I can’t help but think I’m in over my head

Words have been engraved on my body to shame

Words like “ugly”, “fat”, “loser”, and “lame”

The demon returns night after night

He whisks me away and back out of sight

Taking me back to the stories untold

Then he goes once again, and I’m all alone

The others will sleep, remaining unstirred

The voices grow louder, but they remain unheard

The world I created of stories untold

May never be anything that people will know.

sad poetry

About the Creator

Kellie Gilman

Kellie has an active imagination and a creative mindset. She channels those qualities into her writing and loves to explore different genres. She loves to write fiction stories but often times she uses her friends and family as inspiration.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Kellie GilmanWritten by Kellie Gilman

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.