Poets logo

Still Life

"It's simply necessary to love."

By Tammy CastlemanPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Claude Monet's Kitchen in Giverny, France

Brown leaf skittering, brushing pavement at our feet,

in that measure of time when our breath hung frozen.

Autumn air caught our joy in its outstretched arms

and the stars bent double and bowed, that simple night.

laughter scattered like glitter spilled by careless children.

Your voice, ever with me; a ghost in my hallway.

Embers flying upward, singeing October, but never its memory.

The forest a dance-floor, transformed by the light of your eyes.

But like a Monet landscape, tulips the color of lipstick stains

hang on the wall of my reflection, wistful palpable brushstrokes.

Traces of things, seagull, salty skin, knotted hair, revelry, sunset.

These things were. They were; I can touch them...almost.

I shan’t let them go, as they blend with the garden of my life,

handfuls of mossy musk earth, vines reaching for the treetops.

Your love, the gentlest rainfall, the breath and the brightest sun.

The stars bent double and bid you farewell, and the curtain fell

But never your memory.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Tammy Castleman

I have been an avid writer and photographer for most of my life. In terms of true passions, those are mine. What I lack for in memory, I make up for in recorded detail. We are what we leave behind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.