Poets logo

Still Learning

A poem on admitting when you're wrong

By Gabriel HuizengaPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
Friends hiking in Scotland - it somehow felt right for this poem! Something to do with being on a journey, perhaps...?

I am still learning

to be wrong;

To admit to myself that

it is not strong

To never need correction;

and to always already know,

(or claim it) is to have

nowhere left to go.

I am still learning that

humility takes time

that getting there takes

a rhythm and a rhyme.

I am still learning

to drop the know-it-all role

and to believe a bad day for the ego

is a good day for the soul.

Mental HealthinspirationalheartbreakGratitudeFriendshipFamilyart

About the Creator

Gabriel Huizenga

Twas for love of words that I first joined this site:

Poetry, essays, and dear short stories too;

For to live one's best is to read, and to write!

So find me in words here, and I'll find you 💙

Thanks for stopping by! :)

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Shirley Belk5 months ago

    Beautiful, beautiful!!! I'm almost 70 and I'm still learning, too!

  • D.K. Shepard5 months ago

    This is a great piece! Loved the rhythm and rhyme throughout! Also loved the line about how getting to a humble state requires both of those. Humility is hard and being a lifelong learner is no walk in the park, definitely more of a strenuous uphill hike!

  • John Cox5 months ago

    This poem reminds me of me. Ouch! Well written and expressed. Great work!

  • Beautiful!

  • I want to credit whomever came up with the quote which concludes this poem, "a bad day for the ego is a good day for the soul," but couldn't find out for sure who first said it! The internet suggested several different characters...but I just wanted to make a note of the fact that it is not original to me! Anyhow, thanks for reading- I hope you enjoyed :)

Gabriel HuizengaWritten by Gabriel Huizenga

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.