Poets logo

still-.it.hurts

Another blackout poem. introspective.

By Paul StewartPublished 14 days ago 1 min read
4
still-.it.hurts
Photo by Paulina Milde-Jachowska on Unsplash

figure best -to write - - not e.dit - until - - the bitter conclusion...Indo.ing so I can unpack myfeel.ings,lay it all out on the sc.and decide fromtthere what to do

You...see. I generally have someplan when writ.ing about anyth.ing but not this time, I just wanted to let my thoughts take me

to get off my chest, all Ineed - freemyself, unburdenmyself of - guiltorselfish loath.ing -feel - I think of you

-figure my newfoundjoy in writ.ing - unfurl.ing the pains - s t r e s s e s - mymind will... help me deal with - all

thehaildidnotfallthemoulddidnotsmellthevanillatastedsweetthecompassstillworkedandthespiderwebslookedlikefancylacethedayshepassed

butyou were.far.too.gone.toknow----to care. If you. ever. did.

The resentment - - at times, can't be kept in a jarin bacofmymind, it can't be set.. aside for later

it bubbles to the surface and I want to scream...scream my pains, ...entitled

though, ...pains feel unwarranted and unjust, there are of course, others who have experienced worse than me

(drunkardlackoingrealaffectiondidn'tknowhow)still it hurts I had you to look up to, or not...asthecasemaybe, still it - - still I suffer

in small - seem.ingly in.-.significant ways, - see, because - trauma of - absentee is different from trauma of - abused

but.-.still-.i.t.hurts

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: Wanted this to have a very unpolished look with blackout elements and other things that upset how it reads. Also the clearout of the digital sofa continues!

fact or fictionsurreal poetrysocial commentarysad poetryperformance poetryheartbreakFree VerseBlackoutart
4

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 13 days ago

    Well done. Intense!

  • John Cox14 days ago

    Paul, this is as raw as a razor burn and ten times as painful. These hurts do not go away easily or quickly. I think your stream of conscious absence of editing and cramming long strings of words together multiplied the effect of loss, sorrow and rage. I almost felt your hurt as if it were my own.

  • Hannah Moore14 days ago

    It's interesting to read in this form. Got me thinking a bit. I wonder how capable I am of writing pure thought or whether the act of articulating formats the thoughts to some extent.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.